Using a GSP1101 Just for cabs

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by Kowaii, Feb 17, 2012.

1. Kowaii

Kowaii Member

I was wondering if anyone knows a way to use only the cabs of the gsp.

Idea: 11r as main -----> gsp

Since the 11r cant load irs I've been trying to figure a way to use the gsp just as a cab sim. ( plus effects as well) so i thought why not just turn off the amp sims, but the cabs in the gsp shut off too.

is there anyway around this?

any suggestions are greatly appreciated! :p

im new to the whole modeler thing so please excuse my ignorance XD

2. stratchamp57

stratchamp57 Member

It would be possible and it would probably work and sound good because you can load ir's into it.

3. anslinger

anslinger Member

Try setting the preamp model to "Direct" and then changing the cab. That ought to work.

4. stratchamp57

stratchamp57 Member

Yep, that'll work. ;)

5. drwiddly

drwiddly Member

If you set up the GSP to use the 11r as an outboard pre, then you can set up a patch (or patches) on the GSP that use the 11r as the preamp and add in effects and IR's as you wish.

If you use the wizard, I think it's setup #6. I regularly use my GSP with outboard preamps and the preamp stages of my tube amps - works great.

6. meambobbo

meambobbo Member

the GSP1101 will downsample any IR loaded onto it from 10,000+ samples to 128 or 256. That's a serious downgrade to the IR's resolution, and it will sound much different on the GSP1101 than it would played on a convulution reverb plugin in a DAW.

I have yet to find a GSP1101 clip using a loaded IR that impresses me.

7. BCy2k

BCy2k Member

Have you ever A/B'ed any user cab IRs loaded in a GSP1101 with the stock cabs the GSP comes with?

8. drew7000

drew7000 Member

I have.
    The IRs I purchased from RedWirez sound WAY better.
    I wouldn't be using the GSP1101 if I couldn't load the custom IRs.

I don't care how the GSP1101 "downsamples". None of that matters to me.