• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Using Effects Pedals with DAW

placebo62

So I am totally new to recording so please forgive my ignorance here.

I have a basic little setup at home where I want to record guitar and synth.

I have aFocusrite Clarett 4pre as my audio interface.

I want to use some of my pedals as send effects to use with Logic.

So a couple of questions.

1. Are there any issues in chaining multiple effects on the one send? For example I’d like to have my reverb into my delay and have that available on a single send.

2.How exactly does the effected signal get imprinted onto the track in the DAW? Without playing the track through there will be no effect, so does one have to play the track through with the effect on and then save it as a duplicate somehow?

I know that’s very noob

3. What is the best way in managing different settings on different tracks on the effects? Like if I want to have the reverb on a drum track and also use the reverb with different settings on the guitar. Perhaps the answer to question 2 will answer this

thank you

MiguelDamas

1. No issues.

2. You need to record the output of the pedals back into the DAW.

3. Same process as in number 2, done in multiple passes. Recall is a bitch with outboard, make sure you write down your settings.

placebo62

1. No issues.

2. You need to record the output of the pedals back into the DAW.

3. Same process as in number 2, done in multiple passes. Recall is a bitch with outboard, make sure you write down your settings.
Hey,

Thanks for the reply!

So could you expand a bit on #2? How exactly does this work? Lets say I have recorded clean guitar track and want to add in the delay to it.

Do I play this back with the pedal on and then that would create a new track with the effected sound?

marmalade cream

Supporting Member
Hey,

Thanks for the reply!