Using higher rated voltage caps in pedals?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by GibsonGeek, May 15, 2020.

1. GibsonGeek

GibsonGeek Supporting Member

I’m still learning diy pedal mods, builds, and such. Looks like I ordered the wrong capacitors for my project because this thing is huge. My question, can I still use it? This thing is rated for up to 1600V.

[​IMG]

Big in Japan likes this.
  2. mulekicker

mulekicker Member

You can use it if you can fit it in there. Maybe insulate the legs like on that big resistor.

GibsonGeek and 8len8 like this.
  3. captaincoconut

captaincoconut Member

It will add extra mojo.

GibsonGeek likes this.
  4. East Texas

East Texas Member

The voltage rating isn't a problem, but dang. That thing is huge. Just get another capacitor with an appropriate size and rating. Seriously.

GibsonGeek and jlo like this.
  5. drbob1

drbob1 Silver Supporting Member

What IS the value of that cap? By size and voltage rating I'd expect power supply level, 100 uF or bigger?

6. mulekicker

mulekicker Member

I think its just a 4.7nf just rated for 1600 volts! If getting a smaller cap is too complicated during these trying times I'd just use it. It'll work fine and you can claim mojo if anyone asks.

GibsonGeek likes this.
  7. sanfi4u

sanfi4u Silver Supporting Member

As a rule of thumb the higher voltage rating the better cap. Size is the price you pay for it. If you can fit this cap into PCB just use it. It's for the better.

GibsonGeek likes this.
  8. jlo

jlo Member

I don’t think thats gonna fit. That is huge!

East Texas and sanfi4u like this.
  9. drbob1

drbob1 Silver Supporting Member