V-stack in front of tube amp?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by llc55, Mar 24, 2006.

1. llc55

llc55 Member

Hello. Newbie here.

I listened to the website samples and really dug the tones, but: is it supposed to go well in front of tube amps? Clean? Cooking?

Thanks.

2. exodus

exodus Member

clean... its an amp sim, not a booster. tube or ss.

3. abergdahl

abergdahl Member

It works well in front of a Tube amp that is clean or semi clean. With a already distorting amps i might prefer a Hot Cake or perhaps COT50. Another thing for an already distortinh amp is a great treble booster :BEER .
    I have some V-stack clip on soundclick and somewhere ( i will post later) a clip of it infront of a overdriven Tweed Deluxe Clone :RoCkIn

4. Macaroni

Macaroni Member

It works best when the amp is clean and balanced. Some amps don't work as well as others, but most do. It was initially designed for direct recording, which it does very well, but it works equally well in front of an amp, tube or otherwise. There are lots of threads here about the V-Stack, so do a search and you'll be rewarded.

5. llc55

llc55 Member

Thanks for the replies. I'll do a search to find more info about it.

BTW, anyone with good experiences stacking od/boosters in front of it? It would be nice if it could stack with my COT50...

6. Guy from Idaho

Guy from Idaho Member

I don't qualify as someone with "good experiences", but I found the COT50 to be a killer pedal, one of the cooler ones out there, but I absolutely hated the V-stack. Tried two different ones, clean or pushed tube amp (Germino), DI into recording device, whatever, it was always fuzzy/buzzy thin and trebly. YMMV, but for me the two pedals are worlds apart and I have a hard time envisioning stacking them, but who knows.... -GFI

7. rwe333

rwe333 Supporting Member

I agree that the V-Stack isn't (oops! edit) the best match (ironically) for Marshall-type amps. They are better into other, cleaner designs.