Van Halen - Complete Zero Demo - 1976 (Unreleased)


Gold Supporting Member
You can tell Eddie hadn't found the "whammy bar" yet. And his tone was tame compared to when he recorded a few yrs later. This was cool as heck though. Michael Anthony in the background was something Eddie took for granted. The second song had was more on the way to that classic first song formula. At 8:06 it sounds like DLR burped up Mickey D's. This is great.


Silver Supporting Member

all info, and artwork available here:

Van Halen - Complete Zero
(Studio FLAC)

Gene Simmons Demos (1976)
Warner Bros Demos (1977)

Source: Gene Simmons Demos (1976) & Warner Bros Demos (1977)
Lineage: CD-R -> EAC -> WAV -> FLAC Frontend -> FLAC

Bootleg Title:
File Size: 856 MB (FLAC)

Disc 1
01. Intro 0:12
02. On Fire 3:35
03. Woman In Love 3:23
04. House Of Pain 3:33
05. Runnin' With the Devil 3:22
06. She's the Woman 2:51
07. Let's Get Rockin' 3:00
08. Big Trouble 3:32
09. Somebody Get Me a Doctor 3:01
10. Babe, Don't Leave Me Alone 2:52
11. Put Out the Lights 3:34
12. Let's Get Rockin' 3:11
13. We Die Bold 3:05
14. Voodoo Queen 3:41
15. Little Dreamer 3:12
16. House Of Pain 3:31
17. Runnin' With The Devil 3:24
18. On Fire 4:03
19. Babe Don't Leave Me Alone 3:05
20. Bring On The Girls 3:49
21. Young & Wild 2:35
22. Last Night 3:30
23. Light In The Sky 4:39
24. Get The Show On The Road 2:59

Disc 1 Time - 1:17:50

Disc 2
01. D.O.A. 3:59
02. Somebody Get Me A Doctor 4:01
03. Show Your Love 4:08
04. She's The Woman 3:05
05. Put Out The Lights 3:41
06. Big Trouble 3:42
07. I Wanna Be Your Lover 3:02
08. Feel Your Love Tonight 3:59
09. In A Simple Rhyme 4:44
10. Piece Of Mind 3:56
11. You Really Got Me 2:43
12. Happy Trails 1:10
13. Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love 4:04
14. House Of Pain 3:34
15. Runnin' With The Devil 3:21
16. On Fire 2:57

Disc 2 Time - 56:13

Format: 2 Compact Discs (Homemade CD-R)
Label: S.T.O.H. Production 2004

* Tracks 2 through 11 of Disc 1 are taken from the Gene Simmons produced demo tape. Recorded at Village Recorder Studios in Los Angeles and Electric Ladyland Studios in New York May 1976.
* Tracks 12 through 24 of Disc 1 and Tracks 1 through 12 of Disc 2 are from the 1977 demo produced by Ted Templeman and Mo Ostin for Warner Bros. These demos were recorded in Los Angeles in late 1977.
* Tracks 13 through 16 of Disc 2 are unused sessions and alternates takes.
* Front cover artwork contains the Van Halen logo used for the Red vinyl promo released by Warner Bros. in 1977. It also contains a large number zero in red in the background and the title of this set.
* The inside back artwork contains one shot of each of the band members live in concert.
* The rear artwork contains another large number zero in the background, the track listing and notes as well as two very early group shots of the band.
* Released on Jan 1, 2004.

Ozone Baby

Timely thread, since I've been revisiting the early VH albums this week.
I had no idea that House Of Pain was an older song. And that they were doing Happy Trails way back then as well.
This is going to make for a fun afternoon of listening- thanks OP!


Great, new idea for Christmas gift pour moi. Gotta tell the wife. Never heard of it before.



Silver Supporting Member
Just got to "House of Pain." Like the faster tempo much better than the 1984 version.


I can't believe how good this is. I get now how Ed felt about all the plate TT put on the first record. Incredible all these great originals they had already.

Trending Topics

Top Bottom