Very high orders of ear fatigue in my new digital setup, but not through a cheap SS amp

boltzmann

Hey everyone,

I'm experiencing very high orders of ear fatigue in my new digital setup.

Let me just give some background and info. I started playing electric guitar 4 months ago and I really like this hobby. I want to keep learning. I also have a self-diagnosed tinnitus, a high frequency ringing in my head 24/7, and it's been with me for 15 years. I've learned to accept and just cope with it. It hasn't caused any trouble until very recently.

I've been learning to play on a small, cheaper solid state/modeler amp in my living room. Because of neighbors and a fear of damaging my hearing, I'm very cautious with the volume and I'm setting it as low as possible, no louder than watching tv.

I want to learn to play some metallica songs, and currently just working on the easier power chord based songs like fade to black/for whom the bell tolls and it's going fairly well. So I dial in a distorted setting, adding in some gain and I can practice for hours without any ear fatigue. The tone is far from awesome, but good enough and the gain is set high enough to identify when I'm not muting correctly etc. And most importantly it's very friendly to my ears.

But I wanted to get a better, more metallica like tone and I went with a digital setup, primarily because I can only play at low volumes and I just like the idea of having all these different options to test out and play with.

So I bought a scarlett 2i2 interface, yamaha H7 monitors and I've tried two amp sims. Bias fx 2 and Helix Native.

But whenever I add in gain/distortion, my ears are getting murdered and I cannot play for more than 5 minutes before having to walk away. It's like the whole spectrum of sound is covered with this piercing harshness that just cuts into my ears like icicles. I'm not cranking the gain up to max, I'm setting it as low as I possibly can (10 or 11 o'clock).