Vibramate?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by 12guitdown, Aug 27, 2008.

1. 12guitdown

12guitdown Member

Looks interesting. I've never tried a Bigsby before and don't want to find out that I don't like them after sacrificing drill holes in one of my guitars. Seems like a great way to test the waters here.

Anyone have experience with vibramate?

http://www.vibramate.com/index.html

2. 12guitdown

12guitdown Member

Also, will this accommodate an archtop like a 335 or LP? Their photos only demonstrate a slab LP Jr. like guitar.

Hmmm. Maybe I'll give em a call tomorrow.

3. 12guitdown

12guitdown Member

Alright, I just called them. Nice guy to talk to and is very ecstatic about the product. He said they were originally intended for flat top guitars, ex. LP jrs., SGs, but accommodate archtops as well. However, with archtops there might be a little lift at the tail side. Here's a photo from the bigsby site of a Epi 335 at Namn with a vibramate installed. Lower right photo. http://www.bigsbyguitars.com/news10.html

Doesn't appear to have any lift and looks pretty decent.

He also said it can be purchased at gretschgear.com for 59.95 and Elderly is supposed to start carrying them soon.

There's not a lot of info on these as it is a new product. I'll be awaiting first impressions though.:munch

4. PapaDave

PapaDave Member

I bought one last week and am awaiting delivery. Should be any time now. I will check back in when I install it. I just got the new B5 Bigsby. It's for an Agile AD 2300, which is a slab Les Paul Jr. clone. didn't want to drill holes as I've never tried a Bigs, but figure if I don't like it I can turn the Bigsby and the vibramate.

5. 12guitdown

12guitdown Member

6. Carbohydrates

Carbohydrates Member