Vibration sound

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by dkals, Feb 17, 2008.

1. dkals

dkals Member

I am new to tube amps. I bought a new Palomino V32. Found out the reverb tank had 2 of the springs come off and three of the four wires in the tank had to be re soldered.

Now I am beginning to play with it, tone & volume. When I turn up the volume certain notes on the low E string give a vibration / distortion sound. I have checked for loose speaker & loose parts. Nothing. Could it be the tubes vibrating? Thanks

2. rockon1

rockon1 Member

Check the rear panel. It has 6 screws holding it on. Mine was vibrating at louder volumes. Try tightening them . I had to put some thin self sticking foam on the chassis on mine where it meets the cover and that took care of it. Hope your enjoying it otherwise -love mine! Bob

3. dkals

dkals Member

I have taken it apart. Nothing is loose. Is it possible for tubes to make a vibration sound and come through the speaker?

It happens only if you play low E & A frets 3 through 7.

Thanks

4. rockon1

rockon1 Member

Yes tube rattle is possible but so is "resonant" vibration.Is it coming thru the speaker?Sometimes its very difficult to tell I know. Also its much easier to find this type of thing with two people. One playing the offending note and the other grabbing parts to deaden them. FWIW- My rear panel wasnt loose yet still vibrated at certain notes against the chassis to which its screwed. Thats why I ended up using the foam between it and the chassis. Not saying this is your problem just one I found on mine.

Other things that sometimes cause rattles- Tube retainers(the cans that go over the pre amp tubes). Some one posted the tube cage rattling on thiers if I remember correctly too.