Vibrolux Reverb (AA270?) - pics & questions

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by AerialBoundries, Feb 8, 2012.

1. AerialBoundries

AerialBoundries Member

Hi all - I recently picked up this silverface VR and am in the process of making a few changes. I'm no expert but do have a technician degree with a fair amount of bench time (a bit rusty but yes, I can safely discharge caps), but have never done this kind of work to a vintage amp so I have a few questions.

First, the bias balance circuit:

[​IMG]

I have started to convert this to the adjustable circuit by removing the 3.3k resistor from the bias supply to the pot and the 50mfd 70vdc cap that was connected to ground. I moved the 15k resistor to the top leg of the 10k linear pot, connected a wire from the bottom leg to the bias supply and connected a wire from the center pin to the 100k resistor on the board (bias splitter? not sure what this is called). My question here is regarding removal of that 100k and installation of the 220k resistors as per the earlier design. How will this affect the sound? Should I be using CC here?

Filter caps:

[​IMG]

Next, I installed a 3 prong cord (removed AC receptacle and ground switch) and replaced the filter caps with F&T 16uF 475v versions. The resistors installed in the doghouse with these are 10k and 2.2k, which I am planning to replace with equivalent 3w metal film versions. I didn't think there was a reason to stick with CC here, anyone feel differently?

Next, the bias supply.

[​IMG]

So, I have an F&T 100uF 100v cap that I'm installing in place of that Mallory, and was thinking of using another metal film resistor to replace that 1k CC resistor. I believe the original is only 1/2w - what is recommended for a replacement?

Next, plate load resistors:

[​IMG]

I was thinking of trying a 12ax7 in the PI for some extra gain - are the 47k plate resistors still appropriate in this config?