• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Vibrolux Reverb build - problems

This is my first post here, so hello everyone (or everyone who reads this). I've been referring to the Gear Page for ages looking for information, but only just registered because I've hit a dead-end with my Vibrolux Reverb build. If anyone can help, I'd be incredibly grateful. I'm a relative beginner - I've only built a Champ and a 5E3 Deluxe before this one, though I did manage to mod the 5E3 with reverb. There are big gaps in my knowledge, so please be tolerant. Anyway, here goes...

I've built a Vibrolux Reverb AA964 with a few mods. It has the vibrato circuit from a Vibro Champ, which works on the cathode of the triode immediately preceding the PI. I've added a PPIMV (the fixed bias version designed by Bruce Collins), which works a treat. I've got rid of the normal channel. And I've added a raw control which bypasses the tone stack. After a few teething problems the amp worked fine - I've put it in a 4x8 combo, and it sounds amazing. However, I am now having problems with the amp suddenly howling with feedback. Here are some details:

1. The feedback is mid-rangey - it's not a squeal, but a howl.
2. The master volume turns the howling down, so presumably it is not the output valves or OT.
3. It is intermittent - it did this a few days ago. I fiddled about with the negative feedback and OT secondaries, which I thought might be causing it. It stopped for a day. Then it started again. Before starting again, there was scratching and buzzing on the treble and bass pots, and there was farty distortion when playing an open A (which also vibrated the whole cab a lot, and made the valve filaments rattle). Also, both times it has worked before the howling starts, but at greatly reduced volume levels.