Views on late 70's Fender Silverface Amps.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Zim, Oct 11, 2006.

1. Zim

Zim Member

I was wonder what your thoughts are on the late 70's Silverface amps.
    Any good? POS? worth owning? Underrated? Going prices?

I'm realy intrested in the '79 Master Volume Silverface Pro Reverb. Anyone own one, played one? Any Good- Whould you own one?

Thanks-Cleet

2. pureoldsound

pureoldsound Member

I have an early one non master vol...It depends, have you tried one? I really like my Pro-Reverb very nice amp the reverb is really good and I really like the vibrato.....There are some people that don't like the MV. These amps usually go for less money......Do you need an MV?

3. sdgvintage

sdgvintage Member

I just recently rebuilt a later tr. I didn't bother to check the date on it, but it was supposed to be from the rivera era at fender. I started out thinking it would just need a few tweaks to get it back to blackface specs or at least close to bf specs. After looking at it I ended up practically gutting it in order to bf it. It had all sorts of poorly run wires all around, no choke, and the ultra linear output transformer. Spent a good bit of time replacing all the wire caps and such. Sounded good when it was finished, but I don't think I will be taking on that task again.

I am not sure what the 79 version looks like inside, but I have a 71 and it was nearly bf to begin with, and the original wiring (stranded), was still 10x neater dressed than the newer one I worked on.

4. Zim

Zim Member

How come the master vol. ones are so unpopular? I like the master on my GT.

5. Jube2550

Jube2550 Member