Vintage Gretsch and Guild

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by markezgotez, Apr 13, 2008.

1. markezgotez

markezgotez Member

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting. I am curious if anyone here has had any experience with a few guitars that spark my interest. The first is the 6117 gretsch anniversary model. i am interested more so a 58-59 w/ filtertrons but am also curious about the later models with hilotrons... the second guitar is a guild Manhattan x-175.(1954-1959). due to the fact that there are none of these guitars in my area to play. i was hoping someone could tell me about their experiences with these instruments. good or bad. how do these gretsch models compare to the current japanese models??? i have three of the japanese gretsch's and love them. i have heard the build quality now is much better than back then?? any truth there??
    the guild looks really interesting to me, but i have zero experience with guild 's. if you guy's could shed some light on these guitars for me it would be greatly appreciated!!

thanks, Mark.

2. The Captain

The Captain Supporting Member

I have no direct experience with them, but I do have the book "50 Years of Gretsch Electric" by Tony Bacon, which is a great read and contains a wealth of information on the different production phases of Gretsch in the different locations and what problems etc you might encounter. I got it as a pressie, but I think my wife just bought it off Amazon.
    There is a bunch of stuff in the back on identifying them too.
    I have a modern Japanese Gretsch electric and I'm glad.
    The quality is awesome, and I suspect that you will find a BIG contrast between yours and a vintage guitar.

3. JimmyR

JimmyR Member

I have owned many Gretsches, both old 60s and recent ones. I definitely think the newer ones are generally better built! Particularly since Fender took over the distribution.