Vintage Gretsch experts, need help on vintage 6120..

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by parker, Feb 8, 2012.

1. parker

parker Member

I'm obsessed with owning a vintage 6120 and about to buy one, the guy who has one sent me some pics, however, it has no serial number at the back... never seen that before, also I see the mute missing I know it has Grovers, but can any savvy Gretsch experts steer me the right way? Do you see any red flags or other issues on this guitar? Thanks..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. vortexxxx

vortexxxx Member

I'm not an expert but what is that hole beside the bridge for? I've never seen someone make a hole there before.

Your best bet is to post this on Gretsch Talk or the Gretsch Pages. Lots of experts there.

3. parker

parker Member

I think that's the missing mute... I need to sign up at the Gretsch board, but I thought someone here might know before I do..

4. Gretsch6136

Gretsch6136 Member

Some issues I see:

Its had its frets filed almost flat to the board with bad file marks in the board. Will play and intonate poorly unless it has a re-fret.

Non-original tune-o-matic bridge that doesn't fit the bridgepost spacing properly.

Can you get a side view of the bridge to show how high/low its riding? These guitars often need neck re-sets. The dead giveaway is a medium to high action when the bridge is wound down real low.

What year does he say it is? The V cut Bigsby first came out in 1960 (I think) and zero frets were dropped around the same time (I think). Couple of things to google.

The mute is no great loss from the viewpoint of modern guitar playing IMO.

The heel dowel is correct for a late '50s/early '60s guitar.

Do the original tuners come with it?

5. vortexxxx

vortexxxx Member

If you do plan on getting it, make sure that the pickups are original (I can't really read what they say on them in the photos)

6. parker

parker Member