vintage ibanez artist question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by bluesmostly, Feb 10, 2005.

1. bluesmostly

bluesmostly Member

I recently bought a 79 ibanez artist. It is the more expensive model with the block inlays and two small 3-way toggle switches near the vol controls.

what I want to know is if anyone knows what these toggles are designed to do. It appears that are some sort of volume cut/split coil type thing :confused:

2. Scumback Speakers

Scumback Speakers Gold Supporting Member

Out of phase, single coil, and full humbucker modes. Had the same model.

3. bluesmostly

bluesmostly Member

Thanks, that makes sense when I listen to the differences.

BTW Scumbag. It was your suggestion that prompted me to buy this guitar. I was looking for a LP type sound and had asked about an alternative on a recent post. I had been scanning for one of these a couple of years ago and never saw one I liked. Then your suggestion reminded me of my search and this one was on ebay. I really like it, Cheers, David[​IMG][/IMG]

4. Scumback Speakers

bluesmostly, yep, for the best in LP tone without the name and price, these old 70's Artist models are the best. I swapped out the "Flying Finger" pups for some Duncans (Alnico II neck, and Lynch model "Screamin Demon" bridge) so I could get rid of the really ice pickey tones I heard in the stock pickups.

That really made the guitar come alive. But I really wanted the old 24 fret Artist they discontinued in 79, so I got one "on the Bay" for $479 shipped, and put some custom Wolfetone pups in, a fret dressing, and some new Grover tuners (no mods needed). That guitar is fun, and with only about $800 into it all told, it's great for jams, parties, etc. If it gets nicked, no big deal. That smooth heel all the way up to the body is great for solos, too.

Glad you're liking it. Here's the one I wound up with. Cheers! Jim
    [​IMG]

5. bluesmostly

bluesmostly Member

6. RedLizard

RedLizard Member