Vintage JTM45: Deal or no deal?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by zerocharisma, Feb 22, 2008.

1. zerocharisma

zerocharisma Member

Hey all, I have someone who is offering me a '65 JTM45 block logo for $5999. I've only seen a single photo of it but I'm gonna get a better look tomorrow. I'd give it a 6-7 out of 10 for physical condition just from its exterior shot. I have no idea what the condition is like inside. But let's say it's all original (I know, fat chance yeah?) and looks its age. Would this be a good deal or should I put into use my exceptional bargaining skills? What kinds of prices are these fetching today?

2. rkstarr

rkstarr Member

well im no expert but it better be original

3. jackaroo

jackaroo Member

That seems to be right.

I was in the market for one a while back BUT-

I just can't do it. I played one...it was great. Really great. So, I sold stuff to go and buy it. I asked about it's condition before all this, I was told by the guy who's serviced the amp for 10 yrs it was 100%. So I'm thinking OK...maybe I wont get killed if I need to sell it down the road. Then I come to find out that the amp blew, caught fire, had a replaced tube socket and blew the OP tranny and that it was rewound or replaced. Suffice to say with the abundance of M style clone/kits out there I just decided to pass. I'm still looking, but I'm not sure.

If yours is all straight, that is the going rate- good luck.

JD

4. zerocharisma

zerocharisma Member

Saw the amp today and took a few photos:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The guy says it's all original, as far as he can tell, with the exception of the tubes. I'm no Marshall conoisseur but I'm hoping someone can help me determine if it is. Oh btw, this thing sounds incredible! BUT....is it worth $6K?

5. hogy

hogy Member