Vintage pickups,maybe I am overthinking things

Jay C

So, as a self proclaimed vintage nut, I have been thinking about this.
How long before all those vintage tele, strat, les pauls, 175s, 335s etc
need their pickups rewound?

Is it a mistake to drop big $ on a clean axe with all original pickups
and windings only to set yourself up for a hit when one day not too far
down the road they need to be repaired?

Full disclosure, I have some super sweet all original 50s and 60s guitars (and older, like my 30's EsS 150 with the Charlie Christian pickup)that I love but have others that have needed their pickups rewound as
well as other general repairs.
For example, I have an otherwise really clean 1967 tele custom that the
neck pickup seems to be going on, big bummer and could set the price back a few pesos even if I get it fixed professionally and it sounds killer.
Even the ones that needed general work can be great guitars.

Lastly, I'm not a pro and not trying to stir a big debate, just wondering
what other vintage fans have for a take on this.

Love to hear some opinions from other folks interested in these instruments, open to other thoughts on these old guitars as well.

Jonny Hotnuts

Its like anything on a vintage guitar.
On my EJ I do a bunch of 'Steve Morris' style volume swells.....but NEVER on my original 63 Strat! Not when a vintage pot can be 500$!

In time with play frets will have to be replaced....a switch may die.....a pup might fail.....or they might last 100 years more down the road.

If you are getting a vintage guitar, get one and enjoy it. If you are worried about pups failing get yourself an AVRI/CS and if a pup fails get another.

-if a vintage pup fails.....well....get Lollar or other to rewind it, its junk otherwise and useless. Put it back in and call it a day.

~JH

vortexxxx

None of my vintage ones have ever failed. Usually, you need to abuse a pickup before it fails.

nmiller

Drowning in lap steels