• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Vintage Silvertone 1421 troubleshooting

ChrisCC

I have a vintage Silvertone 1421 (10xl) that I’m trying to get up and running. This is my first time working on an amp so I’m taking it slow.

Schematic: http://schematicheaven.net/bargainbin/silvertone_1421.pdf

I installed a 3-prong power cord and clipped the “death cap” but the amp still has awful 120hz hum. It’s so loud the guitar signal is overpowered. Guitar signal is also flubby and distorted. I’ve swapped the rectifier and preamp tubes with no luck and I've got a NOS 7189 power tube in the mail. As far as I can tell there are no leaky caps or loose solder joints. I poked around in there with a chopstick and couldn't hear any change in the sound. Any help is appreciated!

I'll put up some pics soon when I have time to figure out how.

Last edited:

taildragger

Gold Supporting Member
More than likely the Filter Caps need to replaced. If you are inexperienced, do not try this yourself. This can be deadly.

ChrisCC

All the filter caps are in a can as far as I can tell. Would it not be as simple as replacing the can and the voltage dropping resistors? (While employing standard safety practices)

+1 on fresh filter caps. There is also one electrolytic cathode bypass cap that I would replace at the same time.

ChrisCC

I can’t find the exact can as the amp has currently (20/10/5uf 450v). I’m assuming it would be fine to use a 20/20/20uf 450v can?

jthomas666