Vintique Tele?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by sinner, Jul 16, 2008.

1. sinner

sinner Member

Saw this on ebay, a Vintique Thinline Tele, made by Danny Gatton's former guitar tech. The bridge pickup was handwound by Jay at Vintique.

Looks nice, maybe the fretboard is a little light--may be normal for Pao Ferro, what do you think?

Anyone have or have played something similar? I've not heard of Vintique before (but I don't get out much).

I was considering jumping on this but took my ant-acids (GAS) this morning and feel pretty under control.

link:
    [​IMG]http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=220255806690&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:pIC&ih=012

2. flyingvees

flyingvees Member

It is true that Jay builds teles and has a company called vintique....However I have never seen him build anything other than direct Danny clones with bardens and blonde finishes....I am no expert but this could be a parts guitar with vintique parts...

3. Dave Orban

Dave Orban Gold Supporting Member

My thought, too.

4. sinner

sinner Member

Man, that TV Jones neck pickup may sound nice--what 'ya think?

Here's what the seller's blurb says:

"[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]I am owner number four, and per the second owner - who got this info from the original owner - this guitar was built by Danny Gatton's former guitar tech, and the wide neck is a Pao Ferra(sp?) board with jumbo frets and a fairly flat radius. The bridge pickup was hand-wound by Jay at Vintique and the neck pickup is an older TV Jones Filtertron. It has a stainless steel Vintique bridge, compensated Vintique brass saddles and their V/T knobs which are very nice. The third owner, from whom I acquired this guitar, chimed in to verify that it also has the Vintique neck kit installed"

[/FONT]

5. Boris Bubbanov

Boris Bubbanov Member

Do a little search on Vintique and Jay Monterose here and there, especially over at the TDPRI.