• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

VIs - No Need To Sound Like Everyone Else

LSchefman

I'm an electronic musician, so if you're only into guitars, no need to read further. If you are more like me, read on.

Once you get beyond the mindset of sticking with the heavily promoted stuff you find at your local GC, there are some lesser-known virtual instruments out there that simply sound fantastic.

I'm not going to list the ones I like; we all have the ability to do research on the web, discover and assemble our own very personal, unique rigs, and that is a big part of what's gratifying and interesting.

Most VI companies offer a free demo download. Try things out. It's great fun, and you will quickly assemble a nice set of personally chosen tools to create a unique set of sounds.

I'm similar to a guitar player whose pedalboard is in a constant state of flux, only I play keys and am into VIs instead of pedals (yeah, I do play guitar too, and have pedals, but my priorities are a little different).

There are also some very nice new keyboard controllers on the market, and they're worth experimenting with, too.