• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Voltage meter readings

BrokenGstring

I just got this digital multimeter. I was measuring The output on my pick ups on this Mexican Nashville deluxe telecaster. The readings are very high. The bridge pick up reads 13.32 and neck pick up reads 12.01. But when I go through the five way selector they look to be normal. The neck and middle combination reads 5.46. The middle pick up reads 9.91. The bridge in the middle combo reads 5.71. I’m kind of new to this and I don’t understand why the other two are so high output.
Can these readings be correct or is there something that I am missing ?

Attachments

Jeff Gehring

Gold Supporting Member
OK, hold up. First off, these are resistance measurements, not voltage measurements.
Secondly, the UNITs are important. IE, not 13.32 ohms, 13.32 thousand ohms.

So, next you need to consider the CIRCUIT, you are not able to measure ONLY the pickup coil by itself in ANY of the selector positions, since you are just measuring the resistance from tip to sleeve at the output jack.

So what is the circuit? Well, it's a Nashville Tele, so three pickups connected to a 5-way selector, the output of which goes to probably a 250k volume pot. The wiper of the volume pot goes to the output jack tip. We don't need to consider the tone pot, since we are checking the DC resistance only.

Make sure the volume pot is turned all the way up for your measurements. I am going to assume that was the case with your reported measurements. I am also going to assume a 250k pot value.

So, you got 13.32 k ohms when the bridge pickup alone was selected. That means that 250k in parallel with your pickup gives a 13.32k reading. Working that backward, the pickup winding should be about 14.1k ohms.