Voodoo 59's or Lollar Imperials

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by EXP, Sep 8, 2005.

1. EXP

EXP Supporting Member

ive narrowed it down to these two, ive heard each may have flaws though. the Voodoos tend to be bright, and the Imperials could squeel under high gain? who here has tried either pup?

2. EXP

EXP Supporting Member

anybody?

3. FlyingVBlues

FlyingVBlues Gold Supporting Member

I don't have any experience with the Lollars, but I have a lot of experience with the Voodoo's. I currently have have them in 6 Gibson Historic LP's and in a Gibson Historic '59 ES-335 RI. For the LP's I find that I like the following configuration the best:

Neck: 60 HB with an Alnico 3 and 8.3K, Nickel cover
    Bridge: 59 HB with an Alnico 5 and 8.1K, Nickel cover

I go for a vintage PAF type of tone - a lot of clarity, with a combination of warmth and a nice top end. I mainly gig with Blackface Fenders and only use a Landgraff boost pedal, and this combination works really well for me. In one of my R9's the bridge pickup is a bit bright, but not overbearly so. WIth the other 5 LP's the pickups are all nicely balanced, clear, well defined and sound wonderful.

For the ES-335 RI I had Peter Florance custom wind the following for me:

Neck: 59 HB with an Alnico 3, 8.0K, Nickel cover
    Bridge: 59 HB with an Alnico 5, 8.5K, Nickel cover

I was looking for a tone similar to my '59 ES-355 and Peter nailed that for me. Initially the bridge pickup on this guitar was a tad bright. Peter suggested that I replace the caps that were in the guitar with a pair of NOS .02 Black Beauty caps, which made a huge difference. I mainly use both pickups together, and the sound is awesome.