Voodoo Lab's Sparkle Drive!!!

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by SlinkyMan, Sep 19, 2005.

1. SlinkyMan

SlinkyMan Member

Who use's or has used on of these pedals? It seems like a good TS808 alternative too me, and it's more cost effective for me to order one from pedalGEEK than to buy a first hand Ibanez TS808 from Australia (rrp $320!!!). Plus true bypass!!!

Any comments?

BTW, what is the general relability of Voodoo Lab pedals in general?

Cheers, Matt

2. johan

johan Member

Looks like a sturdy box but a friend of mine had some problems with the switch. I'm not technical expert but I think it was mounted on the board, the switch came loose and it destroyed some things inside the box. Another friend gigs with in many times a week and it's still going strong.

However, the Sparkle Drive is really a great pedal. Can do the TS thing and then some. I love the blend knob. Great to blend in some clean boost to the TS signal. For the money it's a winner. Had one and have no idea why I sold it. I will probably get one again...

3. SlinkyMan

SlinkyMan Member

Thanks!

Anyone else had any experience with this pedal?

4. Page

Page Member

I've got a Sparkle Drive. Sounds good but currently sits in its box because the switch is unreliable. It has been replaced by a Fulltone Fulldrive 2 and a Fulltone Fatboost. Both of these are built with the footswitch mounted on the chassis. After waiting months for replacement footswitch I think I'm going to put in a new switch that isn't mounted on the board. Had a Voodoo Lab Analog Chorus that went the same way which I replaced with an Analog Man Clone Chorus. Voodoo Lab build good pedals but putting everything on the board doesn't do them justice.

5. Unburst

Unburst Member

I've had no problems with mine and I dragged that thing all over the world.

It is not a pedal I'd recommend for the O/D tone, into a clean amp it sounds a little thin and buzzy. Has the soft clipping of a TS.