WCR Hybrid Set review

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by drjenkins, Aug 22, 2005.

1. drjenkins

drjenkins Supporting Member

Alright guys,

First time Ive ever posted a review like this, so here goes.

After spending a week and a half with my WCR's I feel like I can give a good report on them:

1. For anyone comtemplating buying any of Jim's pickups...just do it.
    Super cool guy, that just happens to make a superior product.

2. I follwed Jim's recommendation on a pickup combination, and couldnt be happier with the results!

3. Everything I asked for, these pickups deliver.

I got a custom guitar built and after all the hype I decided that I wanted to try WCR's in it. All the hype was well founded in truth. I dont know that Ill ever use another brand of humbucker. Ive been playing for 18 years and Ive found a missing piece of my sound.

Jim suggested that I try a Fillmore bridge, with a Crossroads neck. I told him I wanted to be able to go from Jazz to Metal, and all flavors in between. I asked, he delivered. Any tone I could want, I can dial up. I got the 4-conductor wires to split both pickups. Very very convincing split coil sounds. Most humbucker Ive tried, when split, just seem to get weaker. These, of course, change their tonality, but keep a warmth that makes them unique in their own way. Ive yet to find a position, split or unsplit, that I dont like. Both pickups have awesome note definition across the board. No matter how much gain I punched them with.

The sustain and harmonic quality is top notch. And so is the build quality. My builder, Jim Nunis, of Nunis Custom Guitars, said that they had the best split coil sound of any pickup he's ever heard, and I have to agree. My next Nunis custom will have WCR's in it too.

If you have any question as to which pickup to buy, get in touch with Jim@WCR. Spot-on recommendations and great customer service. Cant praise them enough!!

2. retrospex

retrospex Member