1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Weber amp clones?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by arjunv, May 19, 2006.

1. arjunv

arjunv Member

Hey guys, I'm new here so dont :FM the newbie too much.

Anyway, I am a high school student without much money. I'm going to be making 1400 this summer and I am putting it towards an amp. I want a nice Marshally crunch sound. However, with Marshall's crappy pricing, it is almost impossible to get a nice classic/hard rock Marshall (TSL100/DSL100 are too modern). I have been recently looking at reproduction/replicas of Marshalls especially Weber Amp "assemblers" because they can put stuff in (like a post PIMV and bias test points and trim pot which I pretty much need). I have been looking at Electrosonic and Paceware for my amp. Has anyone had experience with getting a replica made, and do you guys think that I could get a quality amp from them for my price range? I am looking for using the 100 watt Plexi kit from Weber as a starting point, and am adding bias testing points, trim pot, post PIMV, and maybe an effects loop.

Thanks guys!

2. Derelict

Derelict Member

3. gkoelling

gkoelling Member

Hi arjunv,

Welcome to TGP. I think you'll find a lot of useful info here.

The ceriatone suggestion doesn't look like the best answer here. According to their web site they're located in Southeast Asia. I checked the freight on a tweed 5E3 and it was well over $200.00

I don't have first-hand experience with the Weber kits but I'm sure someone will chime in here to help you out.

4. arjunv

arjunv Member

Thanks for the warm welcome guys, I really appreciate it.