Website transfer help needed for a noob

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by zestystrat, Apr 17, 2015.

1. zestystrat

zestystrat Member

First, I’m a noob on this stuff, in a little over my head, so please go easy on me.

I’m going use names here mainly because I’ve had good service and I like the companies I’ve worked with so far.

So my band’s website (link below) is a home brewed affair done via iWeb, which is no longer supported and creates very slow loading websites, no mobile version etc. We are very aware of this.

We are using readyhosting for hosting and domain parking (DNS service?) I get a certain amount of email addresses, ones that I’ve had and used for years. I want to keep them.

So in looking to get a refreshed website, I looked at a number of options (wordpress being the low hanging fruit) but really liked Square space. It’s easy to use and set up. So I started playing around with SS and put together a nice start of a website – very usable for the time being.

Now, I was about to make the switch but there are a few limitations to SS:

No DNS service for an already established domain.
    No included emails for the domain (you can use google but it’s $5/m for each email addy)

So say I still want to go to SS, I need to get a company to host the domain DNS service and either pay for the google service or see if one of the DNS services can host emails as well?

I’ve looked a little at free dns services but that doesn’t (I think) solve my email issue.

Is there a service that anyone recommends for any of this stuff ? Are there any other watch outs when making the transfer?

I do really like SS but this other stuff is really a buzzkill.

domain.com looks promising:

DNS Management - Free
    Domain.com Web-Based DNS Management allows you to use nameservers located at Domain.com for your domain. Using just your Internet browser, you have total control over the DNS records for your domain, without the hassle or cost of maintaining your own DNS server.