Well guys...I feel like a moron. I'm stuck and have no where to turn.

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by SturmerChilton, Apr 28, 2005.

1. SturmerChilton

SturmerChilton Member

I can record. I can listen to those recordings. But I can't multitrack. The reason for this is simple. I can't seem to monitor through headphones. :eek:

The headphone amp on my MOTU comes through but it's not loud at all and I'm doing everything in one room.

The headphone amp in my Ramsa console is adequate though. But once I get a track 1 onto cubase, and go to make a track 2 I can't hear track 1 through those headphones.

I've tried coming from the outputs of the motu into the console in a couple of different ways. I'm new to consoles so maybe there's a simple button or switch I'm not hitting. The only snake I've got is RCA to RCA so I'm coming out of the MOTU RCA (8 channels) into the 'tape in' of the first 8 channels of the console.

Setup is like this.

Ramsa 12 channel console---> bus out to 8 inputs of MOTU 2408--->Main outs of 2408 going to KRK v6 powered monitors--> wire going from MOTU to MOTU PCI card---> Cubase SL.

Does anyone have any opinions on this? It's taken me a while to get to learn all of this stuff and I'm still learning but I'm really stuck here on something very important.

I know it's difficult not being able to see the problem.

But to me, running a snake out of the MOTU into the tape ins of the console should work. I have the output busses configured correctly in Cubase (I think :( ) I mean..it works for using the monitor. And like I said, I can hear it in the headphone input of the MOTU. So I'm thinking it has to do with the console somehow.

2. TAVD

TAVD Guitar Player Gold Supporting Member

After you record track 1, turn off the channel 1 monitor send in Cubase.

3. SturmerChilton

SturmerChilton Member

I'll try it tonight. Isn't that what routes the signal back to the console though?

4. TAVD