Wet sanding, weird patches, see pics!

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by shihku, May 2, 2016.

1. shihku

shihku Member

[​IMG]
    Hey I'm working on a project gtr, I'm doing wet sanding and buffing atm.

As this is my first attempt, I have some question regarding how properly wet sanded finish should look like. I'm using 800 grit at the moment, and I can't seem to get the surface of the guitar too look all of the same. There are some dull and shinny spots, rings, that I can't seem to remove. I just want to know if I'm on the right track before I **** things up.

Pls refer to attached img.

Many thanks in advance, any help would be greatly apprecaited

2. Dan40

Dan40 Supporting Member

I generally like to keep going until all of the shiny spots are gone. The shiny areas are low spots in the finish that your wet sanding has not reached yet. Once you knock the high spots down until they meet the low spots, you should have an dull, even looking finish all over. Then you want to continue with the higher grits.

3. Dan40

Dan40 Supporting Member

I forgot to ask, what are you using as a sanding block?

4. damian1

damian1 Member

I can't see the image?

5. shihku

shihku Member

i'm not using any hand blocks, just by hand, in circular motion, is this the right way to do it?

got an email I can send some pics?

6. Jack Daniels

Jack Daniels Supporting Member

No. It is imperative you use a block or similar to keep the surface flat. You hand pressure on sand paper alone will cause high and low spots. For small surfaces, I use a pink pearl eraser wrapped in sand paper. For larger areas a sponge, or a block of wood with foam or cork on it. Maybe the size of a business card or a bit larger.

7. AdmiralB

AdmiralB Silver Supporting Member

It's a link to the TDPRI. You have to log in there to see it.

8. John Coloccia

John Coloccia Cold Supporting Member