• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

What am I missing about bridge pickups?

MagusFaerox

So....been wondering this for years, basically since I started playing.

I appear to hate bridge pickups. It happens on my guitars (G&L Legacy, SG, Les Paul) and the vast majority of demos and concert videos online with few exceptions. It's to the point that when I watch a gear demo and think "man, that sounds bad...are they trying specifically to not sell this product?!" it winds up that they're playing on the bridge and it sounds fine/good as soon as they switch away.

It's not as bad if I'm playing along with a thick mix (either playing with a recording or with other musicians), but it always feels like a compromise between "I need to be heard" and "I want to like my sound". It's totally different from a handful of players that I really like/respect that I know almost exclusively or at least extensively use bridge pickups (clapton, slash, bonamassa, basically all of punk, a lot of metal, etc.).

It's also not as bad when I try to cop something like woman tone or beano tone (so, tone control way down and volume almost all the way up into a hot/cranked amp)....but to me it pretty much always sounds worse than basically the same tone on the neck.