What are some goods books for an advancing guitarist?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by GuitarSoul24, Dec 13, 2005.

1. GuitarSoul24

GuitarSoul24 Member

Hey guys, im new here. Here's my situation, I've been playing for nearly 2 years. And I remember when I used to practice hours on on end, I learned so much theory and songs. Major scales all over the neck, minor/maj/pentatonic/blues, minor, dorian. Chord construction, inversions, key signatures, etc.

For the past few months though my playing has been kind of stuck. I've mostly just been jamming, improvising, writing, occassionaly learning a song but overall I feel like im getting no where. Are there any books that you recommend that will help me learn new things, reasess and apply the things I already know, etc. I've also been wanting to get into reading music which I really don't know how to do. So a book for that would really help too. Thanks.

2. Guinness Lad

Guinness Lad Silver Supporting Member

Hello, Two years really isn't a long time but if you really know what you say you do then your off to a good start. Here's some stuff I would recommend:

Scott Hendersons Melodic Phrasing or chord book, I can't remember the name but it deals with melodic minor chord forms

Mick Goodrick The Advancing Guitarist

Steve Khan Chord Khancepts (not a misspelling)

William Leavitt Berklee Melodic Rhythms

Gary Chaffee Rhythmic Patterns (it's a drumming book which deals with just about any time study you could ever imagine)

The Real Book Vol1

Arlen Roth Telemasters

Ted Greene Single Note Soloing Vol 1 and 2, Chord Chemistry

If you get through all of this over the next 20 years you'll be doing a damn good job.

3. Ah Xoc Kin

Ah Xoc Kin Member

Yes, I recently got Jack Zucker's book on sale (thanks Jack). :)
    It will keep me working for the next 2 or 3 years.