What are the great years for Gibson Les Pauls?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by rogueoperative, Mar 25, 2020.

1. rogueoperative

rogueoperative Member

I've wanted a Les Paul since I started playing, but I can't justify a new one. I've been cruising the used market for awhile, but the model names and reported quality seem to be all over the place. I know it varies a bit based on individual axes, but I'm sure there are also annual trends.

The 2019 Standards are pretty great - simple, straightforward takes on the 50s and 60s models. That's the route I'm leaning towards, but it's tough to track what years those LPs show up and what they were called.

What are the great years and models you've encountered?

2. reilly

reilly Member

I like my 2019 standard a lot, enough to make me get one again after many years of not owning a Gibson.

3. tuumbaq

tuumbaq Member

4. EL34

EL34 Silver Supporting Member

All of the years? Mahogany body, maple cap, and mahogany neck is an iconic sound.

5. tonegangster

tonegangster Silver Supporting Member

First, I'm assuming you want a humbucker equipped Les Paul (not P-90) by your LP Standard comment. I see you holding a strat style guitar in your avatar so you might actually like a LP with P-90's (like a LP Junior or, LP Special).

Second, for your first LP, don't get caught up in the "this year is better than the rest" mentality. It's true that some years for Gibson had better QC than others but, this metric is way too hard to truly predict on a guitar to guitar basis. My recommendation for a meat and potatoes LP would either be a Standard or, a traditional. Don't worry about the reissues at this point (54, 57, 58, 59 etc.)