'What becomes of the broken hearted'.Need help understanding the bass line

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by russ, Apr 30, 2016.

1. russ

russ Supporting Member

This is an incredible song.
    The verse is in Bb, the chorus in C.
    What gets me is what the bass is doing. It's (very basically) playing an F -Gm in the verse, and a G-Am in he chorus.
    I'm a self taught musician, but I would like to understand the concept behind this song to apply it to my playing.
    Anybody have any comments?
    Thanks!

Last edited: Apr 30, 2016
    Phletch and Bob Pollock like this.
  2. Motterpaul

Motterpaul Tone is in the Ears

It is interesting - it sounds like they decided the melody works better with the bass not playing the root notes, rather playing the V note. This is pretty rare but a very workable concept. I also like the whole tone modulation for the choruses.

russ likes this.
  3. stevel

stevel Member

JonR will have to come along and give you all the chords ;-)

But very simply, the bass is just not playing the root all the time. That's not at all uncommon in, let's call it, "advanced" music.

What is less common is 2nd inversion chords, though in contexts like this they tend to evoke a "gospel" flavor to many.

The chords in the verse are:

Bb/F - F - Gm - Eb - Bb/F - F - Gm - D7

There's really nothing unusual here other than the first chord of each line - the Bb - being in 2nd inversion (Bb/F - the 5th in the bass).

There are some interesting inversions in the "connecting" chords as well.

There's nothing really "magical" about it really - I think it's just so much of what we listen to tends to be largely in root position (other than a few cliches like G - D/F# - Em) so any use of inversions beyond the "norm" tends to have more impact.