What boost/overdrive pedals existed in 1976?

morglan

Silver Supporting Member
I'm specifically interested in Jimmy McCullough ' s sound on Wings Over America.

He's playing a 70's SG standard through either a 68 Bassman head into 2 Marshall stacks, or more likely through 1 or 2 Blonde Showmans into 2 X 12 blonde fender cabs.

(It'shard to tell in the film which guitar player is using which rig.)

I don't think his sound is 100% amp, so I was wondering what pedal he may have used to get that tone.

erksin

Coloursound Overdriver, various treble boosters, LPB-1 - who knows.

Dude had great tone on that record!

morglan

Silver Supporting Member
Wow--I've never seen that video before.

Yeah the Wings Over America video was one of the reasons I started playing. And what made me crave an SG!

Electricb

I love his tones too. Does anyone know what phaser he was using (e.g., check out Silly Love Songs on the Rockshow performance). Phase 100 maybe? Sounds too pronounced to be a Phase 90.

Rockerduck

I love his tones too. Does anyone know what phaser he was using (e.g., check out Silly Love Songs on the Rockshow performance). Phase 100 maybe? Sounds too pronounced to be a Phase 90.
I could only find a phase 90 in 1975. the phase 100 came closer to 1980.

Electricb

I could only find a phase 90 in 1975. the phase 100 came closer to 1980.
I thought this too, but some Googling reveals people selling Phase 100s with pots dated from 75 and 76, so I think it was available. Also, a lot of the tracks on the Stones' Some Girls were Phase 100s and that was recorded in 77.

I think it could also be a Maestro Phaser. The Moog-designed ones would have been in production during this time. Was in an MP-1 or it's big brother, the MSP-1 Stage Phaser?

aaronmcoleman