What do you do if your mixing room really sucks?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Teal_66, Mar 20, 2015.

1. Teal_66

Teal_66 Member

I have been mixing for about 3 years now, and I've been steadily improving. I've read books, and attended some classes - all of which helped. I work in a 10ft x 10ft 7" room with an 8ft high ceiling.

I have some fairly large sound panels on the front and back walls, and those have greatly reduced the room's echo. Lately, my mixes have been sounding better, but they sound nothing like I hear in the room. Not even close. So it becomes a trial and error thing. Bass frequencies, of course, being the worst aspect of the space.

I reached out to a firm that does sound treatment technology, and sent them my room specs. They sent back a graph that showed that the room is unusable. The worst possible of everything. They said that the room is too small for the bass frequency waves - and that nothing they sold could fix the issue. So that didn't help me - because this is the only space I can mix in.

I have tried to bring reference mixes into my sessions to see if that helps, but those mixes sound weird in the room too.

I also try to mix at the lowest possible volume so that the room's terrible acoustics don't kick in. That has sort of helped somewhat. I don't like mixing with cans, as they don't give me an accurate picture.

This has me sort of depressed. :facepalm

I really do not know what to do. Any suggestions would be fully appreciated.

2. loudboy

loudboy Member

Hook up with a studio that ha accurate monitoring, that you know and trust.

Get your mixes the best you can, at home and then go there and do the final tweaks on the low-end relationship to the rest of the mix.

It usually takes maybe 30-40 minutes per song?

You can even get away with just doing one song, and using the levels you get for that in the others at home, if they're all for one similar project.