What is the Bass equivalent of a Fender Hot Rod deluxe?

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by piloto117, Feb 21, 2012.

1. piloto117

piloto117 Member

...if there is such a thing. Looking for recommendations on a modest combo bass amp with good performance for medium venues. Something that sounds great without too many mods, reliability and good volume. ?

2. OllieDox

OllieDox Member

As a guitarist-turned bassist, I can tell you that the world of bass gear is much different than guitar stuff. In most cases, the best way to go with bass gear is a head and cab configuration rather than a combo. Combos tend to be heavy, less flexible, and often quieter (based on utilizing the amp's full power) than a head/cab set up.

Although some people still swear by them, tube amps in the bass world are the minority. There are plenty of class D digital micro heads that are powerful, super light, and highly regarded (this is, of course, a major change from the guitar world!). A huge advantage of this set up is that it allows you to swap out amps if you're looking for different sound. Modding isn't common (and likely not very possible) with these types of amps.

My original and now backup bass amp is an SWR Workingman's 15 combo. It's an old, solid amp that is also very heavy (weighs about as much as an AC30) and sometimes not as loud as it needs to be. Another workhorse combo would be a used Peavey TNT. Either of these amps should be around $200 used and would be good options, although I would lean toward the SWR since I think some models of the TNT do not have a DI (which is practically essential for live playing - I generally always go direct at every venue I play at regardless of the size).