What is wrong with me?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Rocktrans formed, Jun 29, 2006.

1. Rocktrans formed

Rocktrans formed Member

I've been playing guitar for almost two years now, and I feel like I've hit a dead end. I don't know what I should be doing. Almost all of my playing consists of playing random, made up leads along with CDs. I suck at learning new songs. The biggest problem is that I can't find new stuff to learn. Even with songs I *know* that I could play, I can't learn because it's so hard for me to actually understand what I'm seeing on a tab- I know how to read tabs, but can't really figure where to put it in the song. I'm incredibly frustrated because I don't know what I should be doing. I don't have the money to get lessons or even buy more music, and I don't have any idea what direction I want to go in. I kind of like jazz, but haven't found many artists I like. I don't like metal, and though I enjoy classic rock in general, most of it bores me, even stuff that I pretend to like. The sort of music I want to play is rock- I hesitate to say "alternative", since that evokes images of stuff like Nirvana (whom I also don't like), but I would describe the sort of music I want to play as some sort of indie/alternative thing but with actual guitar parts beyond just rythym One of the few bands that I enjoy and has a music style I actually want to play, the pillows, is a really obscure Japanese band that none of you have ever heard of.

I know it sounds like I'm rambling, but I just don't have any clue what I want to do. I love guitar, and playing it, but I feel so lost right now that it's extremely discouraging to my playing. What should I do?

2. seafoamer

seafoamer Member

find a private teacher u lyke & let him skool u!

3. m4tt

m4tt Member

broaden your musical horizons...to me, it sounds like you need to find something new that you really dig. there is absolutely tons of music out there.