What is your motivation for new gear?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Eric Porter, May 1, 2016.

1. Eric Porter

Eric Porter Member

I am currently amp shopping, and having a blast. I've been researching for a few months, so now it is time to get out and really play some amps. So far I have played:
    Mesa : Express series, Mark V 25, TA-30
    Blackstar : HT40
    Marshall : DSL40
    Fender : Deluxe Reverb Reissue (68)
    Dr Z : Maz 18 NR & Therapy

Motivation : To own my first tube amp. Yep, never had a tube amp. Played a Roland JC-120 for many years. Stopped gigging and got rid of the JC, and have used a Marshall Valvestate. Mostly home playing, recording, and an occasional gig.

Why do you buy new gear? Inspiration, bored or grew to dislike what you own? Gig often and need different amps for different situations?

Just interested in hearing your stories. The last two days I've played the TA-30, really loving it. What has been cool was just plugging in straight to the amp and playing, no pedals, and loving the tone without much tweaking. I think the Maz sounded best to my ears, but not as versatile.

2. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Silver Supporting Member

Tone, and feel... That's the inspiration for me... That's everything....but it can run a wide Gamet from speakers you use to tube types, Strat, Teles, LP's running different pickups. And don't forget about all the great pedal builders these days...... It can be quite a science.. But when you figure it all out, it's all worth the effort..

3. MantraSky

MantraSky Silver Supporting Member

As a Tool, as I'm in the studio about everyday.

dsmc80 and lowpaygigs like this.
  4. BrokenRomeo

BrokenRomeo Supporting Member

Most of the time, it's just fun to buy new gear...let's not kid ourselves!!

lgehrig4, ducmike, BADHAK and 2 others like this.
  5. EADGBE

EADGBE Member

I want something that plays and sounds good. And it's easy to maintain.

6. 8len8

8len8 Member