What makes a Varitone a "good one"?

BMF Effects

Great tone made simple.
Gold Supporting Member
Let's skip right past the "Varitones suck, just pull it out." responses and get down to why some Varitones sound better than others. For example...I had access to a '63 ES-345 that was unmolested and the Varitone sounded stellar. All six positions on the switch had very distinct tones. Quack/honk/out-of-phase, BB/Freddie tones...they were all there. Last week I took delivery of a new '59 ES-345TD reissue and the Varitone is lacking, like an anemic version of the '63 Varitone. I know that Gibson made some changes to the Varitone over the years but were there any that would be so drastic that it would become almost unusable? How about stereo vs. mono wiring, could that mess with the sound? What about pickups, do they factor into the equation at all? Thanks!

OlAndrew

I'm not an expert, but I have looked into this somewhat.

The modern Varitones (I have one in my Blueshawk) use much smaller components, especially the inductor, than the old ones. There were complaints about the weight of the old inductors.

I've heard the ones from Big D

http://www.bigdguitars.com/varitone.html

Are some of the best contemporary replacements, and an improvement over current Gibson ones.

I've only run mono rigs, I have no idea what a stereo setup would sound like.

A couple of threads of interest:

http://www.seymourduncan.com/forum/showthread.php?238301-That-Mysterious-Vari-Tone-Circuit

http://www.seymourduncan.com/forum/showthread.php?238301-That-Mysterious-Vari-Tone-Circuit

THe one guy is wrong about the Blueshawk though, I've had mine apart and it's a true Varitone with the inductor and all, the pickup selector switch does the pickup mixing. THe parts on the Vari are very small, the inductor is less than the size of a thumbnail wide. THe old ones had a fairsized little choke on there.

Wildwind