What makes some tremolo pedals so expensive?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by '59Bursty, Feb 7, 2012.

1. '59Bursty

'59Bursty Member

Well I guess I should probably mention first that I have zero experience with tremolo pedals. Never owned one but have always liked the sound of them in the music I have heard them in. Thinking about picking one up but first.....

So I shopped around today and found that there is such a wide price range for these. Some of the boutique ones appear to be really simple with limited features so I guess your not really paying for extra features. Other than the fact that they are obviously built a little bit better and they offer actual customer service, what makes these so much more expensive than the rest? Can a random handful of different tremolo pedals really sound that different? Is it the sound then or what?

Again I have no personal experience with these but it seems like such a simple function it needs to perform.

2. NB_Terry

NB_Terry Member

I've had a couple $200 tremolo pedals, and I've sold them and now use a $30 Dano Trem.

I think if one's trem needs are simple and only a tune here and there, money is better spent elsewhere.

3. yerbluesrob

yerbluesrob Supporting Member

Some tremolos have different characteristics, but I don't necessarily think that the the more they cost the better they are. I've owned quite a few, and I think some of the more expensive ones sound great, but the cheaper ones can sound really good too. Currently I have a Marshall Vibra-Trem and a Boss TR-2 on my board if that tells you anything.

4. Paulstarr

Paulstarr Member

Man look for an used Electro Harmonix Pulsar...one of the best...I paid 60 bucks for it last month

5. dirk_benedict

dirk_benedict Supporting Member