What Makes You Choose a Les Paul .....over an SG/335/Flying V/Explorer, etc??

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Metalex, Jul 29, 2018.

1. Metalex

Metalex Supporting Member

I have one of all of then, and I dig them all. There are obvious differences, but in all honesty, more similarities than not, when we're talking about the tone of these humbucker'd Gibsons.

Why a Les Paul?

It's obviously the most popular among them. It's the name that everyone knows.

For a player, the weight, the mediocre upper fret access and the constant struggle not be too "woofy" on the neck pickup, or to get great cleans, would make you think the others might be more popular with players.

For me, I'm starting to wonder if it's the history and iconic nature of the instrument, more than anything else, that makes me want to pick it up.

Why do YOU choose the Les Paul?

Just curious.

stormtrooper likes this.
  2. Lt Dak

Lt Dak Supporting Member

I've been playing for 23 years, and at 15 total, the LP is the one I've owned and played the longest.

I love strats, prs cu's, sgs, 335s, ibanez RGs, guitars in general. I'll have streaks with all of the above, but I inevitably come back to the LP. It was my main gigging and recording guitar for years. It's responsive, sounds and plays amazing, and I love the way everything about it feels.

TBH, I've never had any of the issues you mention. I just got a second LP (w p90s), and both are under 9 lbs. I get around on the higher frets just fine, though I dont use the last 3 or 4 too much. I like the cleans using both pickups, adjusting volume to taste. I use fuzzfaces quite a bit too, and that's supposed to be a no-no.

As far as popularity is concerned though, I think the SG is the top seller for gibson.

Thumpalumpacus likes this.
  3. Coldacre

Coldacre Member

because they sound better than any other guitar, period.

I can get great cleans, no muddiness on the neck... its a comfortable weight for me and I like the shape.