What path have you taken?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by XKnight, Aug 21, 2008.

1. XKnight

XKnight Member

I started playing guitar as a preteen thanks to Jimmy Page. I played in a band throughout high school and it was my life back then. By College, I had pretty much stopped playing. I didn’t take up playing again until over 20 years later. Soon after picking up the guitar again I joined TGP and went on a major shopping spree over the last year and a half. Obviously, I had a lot of catching up to do. Thanks to TGP I found out what GAS really was and luckily I was able to afford it.

So, after searching far and wide for my tone and trying various boutique guitars I recently realized that I’ve simply been chasing the tones in my head from when I was a teenager in the 70’s and early 80’s. This realization has resulted in two guitars that I’ve acquired and could not be happier with. My Gibson R8 and my Fender NOS No Caster. I finally feel satisfied with my tone and the feel of these guitars. I’m actually starting to feel like my GAS has subsided. Perhaps I’ve just reached a juncture in my journey and will stay at this crossroads for awhile until it’s time to move further on down the road. I guess only time will tell. In the meantime, I’m now on a quest for the perfect amps.;)

2. GibbyFan

GibbyFan Member

I can totally relate to your story. I'm 46 and still chasing guitars and tones. I'm almost settled in... I have two guitars arriving next week! I keep saying, "That's it! No more trading, buying, building, etc." Then I log on to TGP or HCF and I'm gassing again. At 46 I guess I've earned the right to feed my little addiction. There are much worse addictions out there. I need to stop logging in here!

3. Jim S

Jim S Silver Supporting Member Supporting Member

Started in 1979.