What pickup do you use?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by radiohead625, Mar 21, 2015.

1. radiohead625

radiohead625 Member

For those of you that don't have built-in pickups, what sound hole pickup up do you use?

I'm looking for a good bang for your buck. I'm about to pick up a new acoustic in the $600-$700 range for a gig and it most likely will not have onboard electronics.

2. Barnzy

Barnzy Member

Fishman Matrix Infinity and DIY or pro install is a smart choice. If you are thinking pickup, the Dimarzio Angel is supposed to be a nice value...but I've no personal experience on that one.
    Edit...to answer your question better, I have personally done two installations of the Matrix infinity and they both went flawlessly. The results were beyond expectation sonically. One install was my own Taylor 12-string, and one was a friend's small bodied Koa Taylor. It wasn't much more difficult than a permanent sound hole pickup install.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  3. RustyAxe

RustyAxe Member

The OP is asking about sound hole pickups. I use a Baggs M1A into a Baggs ParaDI and like it just fine. Somewhere around $160 new. Better is the new Baggs M80 (option to use active or passive), but not better enough to cause me to want to buy one. I've used Markley, Duncan, Fishman and other sound hole pickups that don't hold a candle to the M1A.

4. radiohead625

radiohead625 Member

I'll be checking that one out and return it if I don't like it. I forgot which one I bought a few years ago, but it was always coming loose and the sound sucked. Not to mention it had the shortest chord in the world. I always see people getting amazing sound from sound hole pickups so I thought I'd ask.

5. OM Flyer

OM Flyer Member

I use the Baggs M1 (passive) and a PADI. Plug-and-play simplicity, consistently good sound.

6. tochiro

tochiro Member