What should I do now?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by dumbass, Feb 24, 2009.

1. dumbass

dumbass Member

Hello. I'm a 15 year old guitarist, and I don't really know what to do now. I'm playing blues and rock mainly, I have a good amp and a good guitar. I would say my playing, when improvisating blues backing-tracks and such is OK. But I can't play speedy at all - when speeding up, I'll often play really simple things faster, sounding very simple and repetive. In the long term, I get pretty repetive playing slower also. Does anyone have some advice for me what to do to improve myself? I'll say my rythm is pretty good by the way - I have played with many guitarist my age that would play flyin' solos, but couldn't even play a simple chord in time.

What I want to learn - I'm a big fan of SRV, Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, Black Sabbath, Lynyrd Skynrd, Allman Brothers, Deep Purple and many more. I have nothing against jazz, both modern and traditional, and I would have nothing against playing that if you think that is necessary.

Thank you for answers! And sorry if my grammar is bad. English is not my main language...

2. stevel

stevel Member

At some point, most people realize that speedy and tasty are two different things, and most people prefer tasty anyday.

You're in good company. Most people in the blues/rock genre do just that. Listen to the solos to Freebird and you'll see what I mean. Really, they're just licks of average complexity, played frequently, and quickly (and with conviction I might add).

In fact, many of the things that SRV and people like that do are really pretty simple riffs, just sped up to a point where mere mortals have to work at them a little more than usual to be able to play them.

Obviously though, there are complex licks to be found as well (I think the Steve Gaines stuff from Skynyrd is FAR more complex to learn and play than the Rossington/Collins licks, but on record, it doesn't sound that way).