What to do with my DSL100?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Wmacky, Jan 18, 2015.

1. Wmacky

Wmacky Member

Finally got to do a test run with the JCM800 reissue I just picked up off Craigslist. I'm pretty happy with what I heard, and think it's going to work out just fine!

Now what to do with my DSL100? It's an original Made in England 2000 model. I had sadly traded my 1987 plexi reissue for it years back. What a poor decision that was, as I wish I had that back!. At he time I was weary of the extreme non master volume, and the DSL seemed the right choice. The were both priced similarly when new, but the 1987 has risen in value, and the DSL has dropped. Bummer. So I'm now already at a big loss on it. I'd rather not ship with all the shipping damage issues Ive been reading about, so that leaves craiglist, and they don't seem to sell very fast on there.

Options? Let me state that I'm just a home player / hobbyist, and I don't gig. So, the 800 will be may main rock amp, along with the 2 4X12's I have. I also have a Twin Reverb for clean stuff. It's heavy but it stays put in the music room.

I could just keep it for more scooped metal type stuff, but I'm more into classic metal. If I did want to do that stuff a little perhaps a trade for a older Peavey 5150, or a 6505 would be cool for the scooped mids stuff, as 2 Marshall heads seem very redundant?

I could trade it for a combo for when I did want to do something away from home. (Rare) Perhaps a trade for a 1 x12 Mesa of some sort?

I could see what it goes for on Craigslist. I'm guess $500 at most? Or, I could just keep] it, but again seems way redundant to me.

Thoughts?

2. CreamTele2

CreamTele2 Member

Try selling on reverb or fleabay as pick up only

3. Custom50

Custom50 Member

Ah just keep it man. For 5-600 bucks it's worth keeping IMO. You can save that much to put towards a new amp pretty easy and you don't want to find yourself missing it like you miss your 1987.

4. JES1680