What to study for grad school?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by still.ill, Aug 21, 2014.

1. still.ill

still.ill Member

I got a worthless degree in Marketing from a "top" Business school in NYC, but wasn't able to find a job there.... now rotting away studying for GRE's in my mother's new house in North Carolina.
    I should have studied something more useful/lucrative/technical like computer science for bachelors, but it doesn't seem like I can really have a chance of getting in a grad school for that because of all the math prerequisites and stuff (most people applying already are C.S undergrads)

:(

I really feel like I learned absolutely nothing in college except two things:

1. How to play guitar better
    2. Aspiring Wall Street bankers are the scum of the earth

There don't seem to be any grad programs that even offer an electric guitar focus, so it seems like a dead end.

2. Mike Anderson

Mike Anderson Member

If you're good with math and computers, learn statistics and R.

3. still.ill

still.ill Member

funnily enough thats what my mom does and she is the primary breadwinner, i actually took a mandatory stat course that i didn't really enjoy at all, it was incredibly boring ( i slept through most of the classes)
    but got an A- in..... perhaps that is an option

4. Jonny Hotnuts

Jonny Hotnuts Member

Do what I did:

1. Drop out of high school
    2. Drop out of college
    3. Work for Peavey and in radio
    4. underpants....
    5. Get job at in engineering department at Fortune 100
    6. Marry the prom queen.

~JH

5. jhc

jhc Senior Member

and if you're near Cary, see if you can't get an internship at SAS

6. Mngwa

Mngwa Member

Bro works for a medical device company, he's got a good deal goin' - and he says the statisticians can practically write their own ticket.

7. oldschoolguy

oldschoolguy Member