What was something little that improved your playing drastically?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Phil3, Mar 23, 2020 at 3:54 PM.

1. Phil3

Phil3 Member

For me it was using a thicker pick. When I started playing I had a hard time picking (I was using a medium pick, so a pick that could bend quite a bit) And I couldn't play comfortably. So I tried a thicker pick one day and it helped a ton! It was like a button that improved my playing, or at least made it more comfortable. (The pick was an unbranded clear blue thing, but eventually I started using Dunlop Tortex 1.14mm) The same thing happened this previous Christmas when I got a pack of Kirk Hammet Jazz 3 picks(1.38mm as I recall) Bit smaller than the tortex, lighter too. Alot of people complain that jass picks are too small, and I understand why. But my hands aren't very large so a jazz pick is perfect for me. Nowadays I can play with just about any pick, but I still find so much ease of playing and control when I use a thicker pick.

So what was something small that made a big impact on your playing?

2. guitfiddle

guitfiddle Member

Learning the five scale shapes, and how they interlock. This gives an accurate map of where you can play in any given key.

The realization that if there are no open strings involved, the same patterns will work in all 12 keys.

Using Dunlop Jazz lll picks. The articulation of my playing improved immediately.

Coiled, JPR101, Dr Bonkers and 27 others like this.
  3. Tony Done

Tony Done Member

I don't know if you would call it little, but someone gave me a copy of Cool Edit Pro not long after it came out, and for the first time I was able to have a really close listen to the songs I was trying to learn

4. NorCal_Val

NorCal_Val Member