• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

What was something little that improved your playing drastically?

Phil3

For me it was using a thicker pick. When I started playing I had a hard time picking (I was using a medium pick, so a pick that could bend quite a bit) And I couldn't play comfortably. So I tried a thicker pick one day and it helped a ton! It was like a button that improved my playing, or at least made it more comfortable. (The pick was an unbranded clear blue thing, but eventually I started using Dunlop Tortex 1.14mm) The same thing happened this previous Christmas when I got a pack of Kirk Hammet Jazz 3 picks(1.38mm as I recall) Bit smaller than the tortex, lighter too. Alot of people complain that jass picks are too small, and I understand why. But my hands aren't very large so a jazz pick is perfect for me. Nowadays I can play with just about any pick, but I still find so much ease of playing and control when I use a thicker pick.

So what was something small that made a big impact on your playing?

guitfiddle

Learning the five scale shapes, and how they interlock. This gives an accurate map of where you can play in any given key.

The realization that if there are no open strings involved, the same patterns will work in all 12 keys.

Using Dunlop Jazz lll picks. The articulation of my playing improved immediately.

NorCal_Val

Back in the “dark days” of learning to play guitar, circa ‘83-ish, I purchased this book from Jack’s House of Music, in Sacramento. It made me understand how scales were laid out/worked on guitar, and how they related to keys/chords etc.
Almost overnight, I went from stumbling around the fingerboard to being able to actually play along(solo) to whatever music I was listening to.(except for Holdsworth’s stuff...:roll)