what was the verdict on powering a nova delay w/ a pp2+

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by williamh, Sep 8, 2008.

1. williamh

williamh Supporting Member

Does it work alright? Will I fry my pedal? etc?

2. jamiefbolton

jamiefbolton Supporting Member

from my understanding, the Nova stuff needs 12v and 300mA to function properly...even if you ran two of the PP2 slots for 18v, it would only produce 200mA...

though i am no expert....

3. Maven

Maven Supporting Member

I was reading through some threads on this today and it looks like you can run it off the L5 or L6 outputs with the dip switch in the ON position and it works fine. Several guys tried this and they said it works no problem.

4. Super Locrian

Super Locrian Member

Well, if it matters, both the tc and Voodoo Labs tech support guys basically advise against using the PP2+ for powering the Nova delay, but I guess the question will keep coming up here because it's not what a lot of users want to hear.

5. thesjkexperienc

thesjkexperienc ^^^ I made this guitar^^^

I am powering a nova delay and modulator on slots 5 and 6 with the dip switch up. No problems.

6. dverna

dverna Member

And the Deluxe Memory Man...might as well ask while we're at it...what slots and dip switch position to power this off the PP2+ (Assuming one has the Y-cable that can be purchased from Voodoo Labs)

7. Maven

Maven Supporting Member

Well the truth is you can power the Nova fine with the PP2+. If it works and there are no issues I really don't care what some tech support guy says. :banana

8. Digitalman

Digitalman Member

It's output numbers 5 and 6.

I've had my Nova for about a month now and I'm running it off of number five with no problems.

I guess I could still get the Y connector from Voodoo Labs and combine 5 and 6 just to be on the safe side.

I didn't think there was a chance of hurting the pedal by under powering it - just over powering it.

9. radcliff

radcliff Member