What's better than a Metroplex??? (Brown Box content)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Eskimo_Joe, Apr 28, 2016.

1. Eskimo_Joe

Eskimo_Joe Rocker, roller, way out of controller Supporting Member

That's easy - a Metroplex with one of these mamma jammas!

DAYUUUMM!!!!!!

This bundle of joy just arrived and believe the hype, it's legit! I went out on a limb and bought this thing hoping it was worthwhile and what it does for my amp absolutely slays.

(Edit: AmpRx Brown Box; http://www.amprx.net)

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
    Ilduce, Polvo, RussB and 2 others like this.
  2. Stratonator

Stratonator Member

Link, info, price, effect, feedback, satisfaction level?

3. GilmourD

GilmourD Member

Doesn't the MetroPlex already have the Variac option on the PT?

4. Eskimo_Joe

Yes, it does. I'm not an expert in the science behind it, but my layman's explanation is that the Brown Box is like the Cadillac version of a variac. Lots more options, which allow you to dial it in even more.

5. GilmourD

GilmourD Member

My understanding of it is that it doesn't allow you to ramp the voltage beyond what's coming from the wall, so it's sort of a safety net.

The Variac setting on the MetroPlex is second tap off the secondary winding which gives you the same B+ voltage as if you were feeding the primary side 90VAC.

I guess the Brown Box is useful if you don't want to jump straight to 90 from 120, but kinda redundant if that's where you want to be.

6. Eskimo_Joe

Somebody smarter than I am can explain the science of why it sounds so good, but the basic idea is that this thing allows you to adjust the level of voltage that your amp runs on. From what I gather, tube amp components were originally designed to run on 117, whereas modern electricity puts out more like 121, sometimes more.

7. Eskimo_Joe