Whats Everyones Thoughts On Budda Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by danel59, Mar 7, 2006.

1. danel59

danel59 Member

I have had a friend ask about Budda amps. What is everyones thoughts re this line. I don't have a lot of knowledge myself so I thought that I could get a lot of info from fellow GP'ers. Postive and negative replies are welcome

Thanks

Dan

2. lookslikemeband

lookslikemeband Member

I own a Budda Twinmaster 2X10 - an early "out of production" model, and it SMOKES!!!

Absolutely awesome clean, but will get more aggressive as the volumes go up. Responds well to pedals.

3. ChrisGS

ChrisGS Member

I have a Twinmaster10 that I got new in 1995 . To me , this amp has a different type of distortion tone . It's special . It has a clarity to the distortion if that makes any sence . With the amp fully cranked , you can still play chords that would sound like jumbled-up glop on most amps . The amp has great sustain with a Tele or Strat with vintage type pick-ups(I don't have any Humbucker guitars).

When played clean , the amp sounds sort-of like a Tweed Deluxe ...in all honesty , I'm not too crazy about the clean sound . But I think that the distortion quality to the amp is so useable , I can almost do without a clean sound . For a point of refrence , I have a Clubman 35 that I love the clean sound on , but the distortion tone is sort-of typical (not special, like the Twinmaster) .

One other shortcoming is the Twinmaster is only 15-18 watts which in some bars with some bands , it ain't quite loud enough . Also , a bit more bass would be nice . There was also a 30 watt version (four EL84's) of the amp which may address these issues...good luck finding one though .

This amp is a handwired vesion . As I understand , Budda amps are now PCB built .
    ...Oh yeah , I set up the amp with a Celestion Blue alnico , and they like each other a lot .

That's my story ,
    Chris .

4. DodsonLP

DodsonLP Member