What's some good overdrive pedals?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by megaman254, Feb 20, 2012.

1. megaman254

megaman254 Member

I'm fairly new to guitar (Year and a half), gotta start building a pedal board soon. So I was wondering if anyone could tell suggest some good overdrive pedals, that can work with about any style of music?

2. Heady Jam Fan

Heady Jam Fan Member

That is too broad of a question to be helpful to you I think.

Overwhelmingly the answers will be a Timmy for a preamp-like overdrive that would take away from your core tone, and a TS9 for midrange cut through.

If you want more specific suggestions, what gear do you have (guitar and amp) and what style music?

3. stratguy23

stratguy23 Member

Just read through the first few pages of the stompbox section, you will get all the hot TGP overdrives. This topic has been covered to death.

Btw, welcome to TGP! :aok

4. guitarz1972

guitarz1972 Member

OP, if you want quick and easy, just put together $80-100 and get either a used Fulltone OCD or a used Fulldrive 2 and you're all done. I'm serious.

5. megaman254

megaman254 Member

Currently I have a Fender Squire, I'm getting a Epiphone Les Paul studio soon. And a VOX VT80+ that has alot of effects on the amp it self, but so i can switch between things I need some pedals. I play on my local Worship Team, manly playing like Hillsong United kinda stuff.

6. Bufferz

Bufferz Member

They do make a footswitch for the valvetonix series that would let you switch between saved presets, however, pedals are a lot of fun to use.

7. megaman254

megaman254 Member

Yeah I got the footswitch I love it!

8. JRBain

JRBain Member

This issue is comically overstated.

Just get something that sounds good to you that will give you enough saturation and enough volume. If you need something that will cut through, get a Tubescreamer or derivative.