whats the best way to record bass?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by regotheamigo, Jul 20, 2006.

1. regotheamigo

regotheamigo Member

I am a guitarist and need to lay down some bass stuff for my recordings and just wanted opinions on the best way to record the bass in the mix? Off to one side, straight down the middle, stereo? Thanks

2. elambo

elambo Member

It's almost always down the middle, maybe off to one side very slightly, and in mono. Sometimes it's cool to throw a chorus on the bass track to spread it out a little, but that begins to sound dated very quickly.

The bass will end up working closely alongside the kick drum. You could pan the kick slightly to one side and the bass slightly to the other side, but try to make sure that the frequencies of each aren't so similar that they mask one another. It's standard practice to decide which will take the lowest frequencies, which will take the frequencies above, and eq accordingly.

3. justicetones

justicetones Member

Ya what elambo said is accurate. I would also add that most of my best results have been to record the bass direct. Unless you have a excellent amp, and mic-mic pre combo miking up an amp is tricky. When I have done it I have had really good gear to do it with and I still usually end up mixing in the D.I. signal with the amp.

4. regotheamigo

regotheamigo Member

thanks for the replies. Basically all I have is a bass, and I was either gonna record it direct with my new RNP or record it with my Line 6 Guitar Port which has 5 or 6 bass rig set ups. Its cool because its already got the effects set up like what a bassist would do. How it sounds recorded I don't know. Hopefully good.

5. MichaelK

MichaelK Member

What elambo said. I record direct 'cause I don't have a bass amp, but sometimes I use a SansAmp Bass Driver DI which simulates amp overdrive rather well. Sometimes I blend the SansAmp track with a clean direct track (a Basso suggestion).